
 

What is the Annual Sales Tax Holiday? 

The Louisiana Annual Sales Tax Holiday provides an exemption from state sales tax on the first $2,500 of the purchase price of most 

individual items of tangible personal property for non-business use. The state sales tax is payable on the portion of the purchase price of any 

individual item in excess of $2,500. 

The holiday applies only to the 4 percent state sales tax. It does not apply to sales taxes levied by parishes, municipalities, school boards, 

and other political subdivisions of the state. 

Under Louisiana law, the annual sales tax holiday takes place on the first consecutive Friday and Saturday each August. The 2014 sales tax 

holiday begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, August 1, and continues through 11:59 p.m. on Saturday, August 2. 

What items are eligible for exemption? 

The exemption applies statewide to all consumer purchases of tangible personal property, other than vehicles subject to license and title and 

meals furnished for consumption on the premises where purchased, including to-go orders, provided that the property is not for use in a 

business, trade, or profession. 

What items are NOT eligible for exemption? 

In addition to the specific exclusions in the Act for vehicles and meals, the state sales tax holiday does not apply to:  

 Purchases of taxable services (such as hotel occupancy) 

 Amusement, recreational, and athletic admissions 

 Repairs to tangible personal property 

 Laundry, cleaning, pressing, and dyeing services 

 Vehicle parking 

 The furnishing of cold storage space 

 Printing services 

 Telecommunication services 

 Leases or rentals of tangible personal property 

What are the conditions for exemption? 

A customer is eligible for the sales tax exemption if during the two days of each annual holiday: 

 The customer buys and accepts delivery of eligible property; 



 The customer places property on layaway; 

 The customer acquires property that was previously placed on layaway; or 

 The customer places an order for immediate delivery, even if delivery must be delayed, provided that the customer has not 

 requested delayed shipment. 

Are there any special provisions? 

The following special provisions apply: 

 The exemption is allowed on both inputs to and withdrawals from layaway. 

 Purchases during the holiday with "rain checks" issued before the two-day holiday are eligible for exemption, but purchases after 

 the holiday with "rain checks" issued during the holiday are not eligible for exemption 

 Orders for immediate shipment are eligible for exemption even if the shipment is after the holiday, provided that the customer 

 does not request delayed shipment 

 The post-holiday exchange of merchandise to effectuate changes in size, color, or correction of defects does not create a tax 

 liability, but exchanges after the holiday for dissimilar items will be considered the purchase of new property on which the sales 

 tax will be payable 

 Items that are normally sold as a unit, such as dining tables and chairs, cannot be individually priced for the purpose of creating a 

 separate eligibility cap for each individual item 

 For a 60-day period after the holiday, dealers who issue refund or credit for the return of merchandise that was eligible for sales 

 tax exemption during the holiday can issue refund or credit for the state sales tax on that returned merchandise only if the 

 customers returning the property have receipts showing that the tax was actually paid on the original purchases, or the dealers 

 are otherwise able to document that the state sales tax was paid on the original purchases 

For more information about the Sales Tax Holiday, visit the Louisiana Department of Revenue. 

 

http://www.revenue.louisiana.gov/sections/general/hottopics/salestaxholiday.aspx?view=print%20

	What is the Annual Sales Tax Holiday?
	What items are eligible for exemption?
	What items are NOT eligible for exemption?
	What are the conditions for exemption?
	Are there any special provisions?
	The following special provisions apply:

